Research · Updated
Quiet price changes: what a year of archived pricing pages shows
Pricing pages change all the time. Often there is no post about it. We compared old copies of pricing pages with the live ones. These are the changes we could confirm.
The short answer
- 13price and plan changes we confirmed by hand
- 0 of 13had a public notice dated before the change, that we could find
- 4 of 13no announcement found at all, not even in the vendor’s changelog
- 9 of 13the vendor does not say what happens to current customers
Of the 13 changes we confirmed, none had a public notice dated before the change that we could find.
For 4, we found no announcement at all, not even in the vendor's own changelog.
For 9, the vendor does not say what happens to current customers.
How we checked
- We took saved copies of each pricing page from the Wayback Machine: about 30, 90 and 365 days back, plus the live page.
- So far we scanned 347 of the 733 tools in our list. The rest are next.
- A script flagged pages that changed. We checked each one by hand against both saved copies. Many were noise, like a new plan name.
- We list only the changes we confirmed. We checked each one again on the live page.
We left out changes that the vendor announced in advance. So this is a list of quiet changes, not a sample of all price changes.
The 13 changes, A to Z
Each line is what the pricing page said. Open the two saved copies to check it yourself.
| Tool | What changed | Window | Current customers | Announced? | Check it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ArchbeeArchbee raised Growing to $80 and Scaling to $350 a month | Before Growing starting at $50 per month; Scaling starting at $200 per month After Growing starting at $80 per month; Scaling starting at $350 per month |
→ | Not stated | Not confirmed | |
| ButtondownButtondown made six included features paid add-ons | Before Price includes tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email, attachments After Each of those six features: +$9/month add-on; Teams +$79/month |
→ | Not stated | Not foundNo pricing entry in Buttondown's changelog, December 2025 to January 2026 | |
| DropboxDropbox dropped Professional; Standard now starts at one user | Before Professional $16.58/month, 1 user, 3 TB; Standard 3+ users, 5 TB After Standard $15/user/month, for 1 person or more, starts at 3 TB |
→ | KeptStay on Standard Classic and keep their features (bought before June 30, 2026) | Not confirmed | |
| LinearLinear raised Basic to $10 and Business to $16 a user | Before Basic $8, Business $14 per user/month, billed yearly After Basic $10, Business $16 per user/month, billed yearly |
→ | Not stated | Not foundNo price entry in Linear's changelog, September to December 2025 | |
| MemMem replaced its $12 unlimited-notes plan with capped plans | Before Mem Pro $12/month: unlimited notes, 250 messages to Mem Agent After Mem Plus $9: 50 messages, 50 new notes a month; Mem Pro $29 |
→ | Not stated | Not confirmed | |
| NiftyNifty removed its $39 Starter plan; flat plans now start at $79 | Before Starter $39 per month: 10 members, 100 GB, 40 projects After No Starter plan; Pro $79 per month: 20 members, 500 GB, 100 projects |
→ | Not stated | Not foundNone in Nifty's changelog, June to September 2026 | |
| NinoxNinox: new buyers now start at €25 a user, not €11 | Before Starter €11 per user/month, billed annually After Team €25 per user/month, billed annually; old plans moved to legacy pricing |
→ | KeptKeep their current price while they stay on their plan, Ninox says | Not confirmed | |
| PaymoPaymo's free plan is now for one user only | Before Free: unlimited users, clients limited to 5, projects limited to 10 After Free: limited to 1 user, 1 client, 2 projects |
→ | Not stated | Not confirmed | |
| Row ZeroRow Zero raised Pro to $12 and Business to $20 a user | Before Pro $8, Business $15 per user/month, billed annually After Pro $12, Business $20 per user/month, billed annually |
→ | Not stated | Not confirmed | |
| SliteSlite renamed Standard to Basic and raised it from $8 to $10 | Before Standard $8 per user/month, billed yearly After Basic $10 per user/month, billed yearly |
→ | Not stated | YesChangelog entry: June 10, 2026 | |
| TaskadeTaskade stopped selling its $6 Starter plan | Before Starter $6/mo, 3 users included After No Starter plan; Pro $10/mo billed annually, 10 users included |
→ | KeptStill supported, Taskade says; it calls Starter a legacy plan | Not confirmed | |
| WistiaWistia dropped its $19 Plus plan; paid plans now start at $79 | Before Plus $19/mo, billed annually After Free $0, Pro $79/mo billed annually; no Plus plan |
→ | KeptOlder (Legacy) plans stay for now; Wistia tells owners before any change | Not confirmed | |
| ZenhubZenhub Teams got cheaper, but now caps issues at 5,000 | Before Teams $8.33 per user/month yearly; number of issues: Unlimited After Teams $4.99 per user/month yearly; number of issues: Up to 5000 |
→ | Not stated | Not foundNone in Zenhub's changelog; no entry about prices or limits |
- Window
- The last saved copy with the old terms, and the first with the new ones. The change happened in between.
- Current customers
- “Kept” means the vendor says current customers keep their plan or price. “Not stated” means we found no word on it from the vendor.
- Announced?
- “Not found” means we read the vendor’s changelog for those months and found nothing about the change. “Yes” means the vendor wrote about it; we show the date. “Not confirmed” means we did not finish that check, so we make no claim.
What we don’t know
- If current customers were moved. For 9 of 13, the vendor’s pages do not say.
- Emails or in-app notes to customers. We can’t see them. A vendor may have told its customers directly.
- The exact day. Saved copies are not made every day, so each change has a window.
What this means for you
- Check your plan page once a year. Compare it with what you pay, and note your renewal date.
- Export your data before you renew. Then you can still leave if the new price does not work for you.
- Watch your stack. Pick the tools you use. We email you when we publish a checked change to one of them. Watch your stack
If you’re a vendor named here
If we got something wrong, tell us. Email hello@timetobail.com or use our contact page. A link to your page helps. We correct errors and say on the page what we changed.
If you want to add a statement, for example that current customers keep their price, send it. We will add it next to your change, with a link.
Use the data
The data is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0. Please credit Time to Bail and link to this page.