timetobail

Buttondown · Price increase · Tracked since October 11, 2026 · Sources checked Oct 12

Time to bail on Buttondown add-on prices?

Time to Bail · Boarding pass

FromButtondown add-on prices
Tobeehiiv · Paragraph

Partly.

Six features now cost $9 a month each. Buttondown has not said if current plans change.[1]

Get ready means prices or limits are moving against some users. Plan a way out.

Gate closes
No set date
The change showed up on the pricing page. Check your plan and renewal date.
Time left
No set date
Status
Get ready

Buttondown made six included features paid add-ons

Six features that came with every paid Buttondown plan now cost $9 a month each: tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email and attachments. Other add-ons went up too. We found no note about it from Buttondown.

Before → After

Two saved copies of the Buttondown pricing page in the Wayback Machine. Check them yourself.

  1. Before ·

    Price includes tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email, attachments

  2. After ·

    Each of those six features: +$9/month add-on; Teams +$79/month

Spotted by our pricing radar; Buttondown did not announce it.[4]

What to do next

Tick steps as you go. Your progress stays in this browser.

  1. List the features you use

    Tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email and attachments now cost extra.

  2. Ask Buttondown before you renew

    Ask if your current plan keeps these features at your price. Keep the answer.

  3. Export your subscribers and emails

    In Subscribers, click Export for a CSV. In Emails, click Export to get your posts.

Facts we checked

Facts and their sources
Pricing page beforePrice includes tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email, attachments[2]
Before: saved copy fromDecember 14, 2025[2]
Pricing page afterEach of those six features: +$9/month add-on; Teams +$79/month[3]
After: saved copy fromJanuary 14, 2026[3]
Those six features today+$9/month each[1]
Teams and whitelabeling before+$70/month each[2]
Teams and whitelabeling today+$79/month each[1]
Multiple newsletters and automations before+$20/month each[2]
Multiple newsletters and automations today+$29/month each[1]
Free tier todayFree for your first 100 subscribers[1]
Its pricing page, on raising pricesWe see no reason to do that[1]
Existing customersNot stated by Buttondown[1]
AnnouncementNo pricing entry in Buttondown's changelog, December 2025 to January 2026[4]

Where people go

Listed for convenience. Not ranked. Not paid.

Editor's picks 2

Chosen by an editor. An importer claim links to its source.

  • Also in our Newsletters list. Its pricing page shows a free plan. Check that it fits before you move.

    Option people mention
  • Also in our Newsletters list. Its pricing page shows a free plan. Check that it fits before you move.

    Option people mention

Questions to check before you switch

Answers depend on your plan and setup. We have not checked each one yet.

  • Will my Buttondown bill go up at renewal?
  • How do I export my Buttondown subscribers?

Sources

Check it yourself. Every fact above links here.

  1. Buttondown pricing Buttondown · primary · checked Oct 12
  2. Buttondown pricing page, saved December 14, 2025 Internet Archive (Wayback Machine) · archive · checked Oct 12
  3. Buttondown pricing page, saved January 14, 2026 Internet Archive (Wayback Machine) · archive · checked Oct 12
  4. Buttondown changelog Buttondown · primary · checked Oct 12
  5. Subscriber data exports Buttondown · primary · checked Oct 12
Read the published editorial report

What changed

Time to bail on Buttondown add-on prices? Partly. Six features now cost $9 a month each. Buttondown has not said if current plans change.

On our scale this is Get ready: some people are hit, not all. Check if you are one of them, and get ready to move.

Six features that came with every paid Buttondown plan now cost $9 a month each: tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email and attachments. Other add-ons went up too. We found no note about it from Buttondown.

Here are the facts we checked:

  • Pricing page before: Price includes tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email, attachments (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • Before: saved copy from: December 14, 2025 (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • Pricing page after: Each of those six features: +$9/month add-on; Teams +$79/month (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • After: saved copy from: January 14, 2026 (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • Those six features today: +$9/month each (Buttondown)
  • Teams and whitelabeling before: +$70/month each (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • Teams and whitelabeling today: +$79/month each (Buttondown)
  • Multiple newsletters and automations before: +$20/month each (Internet Archive (Wayback Machine))
  • Multiple newsletters and automations today: +$29/month each (Buttondown)
  • Free tier today: Free for your first 100 subscribers (Buttondown)
  • Its pricing page, on raising prices: We see no reason to do that (Buttondown)
  • Existing customers: Not stated by Buttondown (Buttondown)
  • Announcement: No pricing entry in Buttondown's changelog, December 2025 to January 2026 (Buttondown)

The public price page changed. We could not find what happens to current customers.

If you pay today, check your next renewal quote before you are charged.

Buttondown is the main source for this page. Buttondown has not said more than what is listed here. If a fact is not on this page, we do not know it yet.

Who is affected

New customers see the new prices. Buttondown has not said if current customers move to them.

Export is fairly easy here, so the move itself is not the hard part. Picking the right new tool is.

There is no single date for everyone. Your own renewal date is the one that counts.

What to do now

  1. List the features you use. Tagging, paid subscriptions, comments, analytics, RSS-to-email and attachments now cost extra.
  2. Ask Buttondown before you renew. Ask if your current plan keeps these features at your price. Keep the answer.
  3. Export your subscribers and emails. In Subscribers, click Export for a CSV. In Emails, click Export to get your posts.

A few rules help every move go well:

  • Keep the old account open until the new tool works. Do not cancel first.
  • Keep every export in two places, like your laptop and a cloud drive.
  • Test the new tool with a small part of your data before you move it all.
  • Tell your users or team once, in one short and clear message.

How to tell your users

Send one short email. Say what changed, where to find you now, and what they need to do. Put the most important line first.

If there is a date, send a short reminder a few days before it. Keep a copy of the list you sent it to.

Options people mention

Listed for convenience. Not ranked. Not paid. These names come up in threads and reviews; that does not show where people moved.

  • beehiiv: Also in our Newsletters list. Its pricing page shows a free plan. Check that it fits before you move.
  • Paragraph: Also in our Newsletters list. Its pricing page shows a free plan. Check that it fits before you move.

Before you pay, check the price page of each tool yourself. Prices change, and we only list what our sources say.

Questions people ask

Will my Buttondown bill go up at renewal?

Unknown for now. Buttondown has not said, and we will not guess. We will update this page when a source does.

How do I export my Buttondown subscribers?

Start with the steps above. First: list the features you use.

Sources

Thanks.

Did this answer your question?

Arrivals · for builders

Building where they land?

People leaving Buttondown add-on prices need a new home. Get the playbook for this change, and list your product here.

Listing is free. An editor checks it. Not ranked. Not paid.