{"title":"Free tier graveyard 2026","url":"https://timetobail.com/research/free-tier-graveyard-2026","license":"CC BY 4.0","licenseUrl":"https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/","attribution":"Time to Bail (https://timetobail.com/research/free-tier-graveyard-2026)","generatedAt":"2026-10-15T22:09:10.310Z","researched":"2026-10-13","method":{"sources":"Each row was checked on the vendor's own pages (pricing, docs, help, changelog or blog) on the accessed day.","counted":"endedOrShrank counts rows with freeConfirmed = true whose change took effect between 2025-01-01 and today.","status":"open = the row has a date ahead (actBy) that a reader can still act before; ended = it has passed.","dates":"Dates are YYYY, YYYY-MM or YYYY-MM-DD. approx = the vendor gave no exact day.","notCounted":"Changes we could see on a vendor page but whose old terms or date come only from news or trackers."},"totals":{"rows":31,"endedOrShrank":21,"stillOpen":10,"shutdowns":7,"freeNotConfirmed":5,"myths":3,"otherWay":1,"notCounted":7,"next":{"tool":"Prisma Accelerate","when":"Dec 1, 2026"}},"rows":[{"id":"android-developer-verification","tool":"Android apps outside Google Play","vendor":"Google","group":"dev","change":"shrank","status":"open","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Anyone could share an Android app outside Google Play with no sign-up, no ID and no fee.","changed":"Developers must register and verify who they are with Google. Then their apps can be installed from participating stores on certified phones. A full account costs $25. A free account covers up to 20 devices.","short":"Apps outside Play need a verified developer","effective":{"date":"2026-09-30","approx":false,"label":"Sep 30, 2026","note":"in Brazil, Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand"},"actBy":{"date":"2027","approx":false,"label":"2027","note":"Worldwide in 2027. Google gives no exact date."},"todo":"If you ship apps outside Google Play, register before the worldwide rollout.","affected":"Developers who ship apps outside Google Play, and their users. Google says Play registers 99% of its apps on its own.","costNow":"$25 once for a full account. $0 for the limited account (up to 20 devices).","escape":"Installs over ADB are not affected, Google's FAQ says. In the first phase, direct downloads from websites are not covered yet.","alternatives":[{"name":"Limited Distribution account","note":"free, up to 20 devices","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/android-developer","ourPage":true},{"name":"Install over ADB","note":"not affected, per Google","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/android-developer","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":"https://timetobail.com/e/android-developer-verification-2026"},"sources":[{"title":"Android developer verification","url":"https://developer.android.com/developer-verification","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Android Developers Blog, June 2026","url":"https://android-developers.googleblog.com/2026/06/android-developer-verification.html","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Developer verification FAQ","url":"https://developer.android.com/developer-verification/guides/faq","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":"The 2027 date has no day yet."},{"id":"retool-email-free","tool":"Retool Email on the Free plan","vendor":"Retool","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Apps and workflows on the Free plan could send email through the built-in Retool Email resource.","changed":"Free plan orgs can no longer send email through Retool Email. Paid plans keep it.","short":"Free plan loses built-in Retool Email","effective":{"date":"2027-01-01","approx":false,"label":"Jan 1, 2027","note":null},"actBy":{"date":"2027-01-01","approx":false,"label":"Jan 1, 2027","note":null},"todo":"Point your email queries at SMTP or another email service before the date.","affected":"Cloud orgs on the Free plan that use Retool Email.","costNow":"Team plan. The price page showed us euro prices: from €9 per builder a month, billed yearly.","escape":"Swap the resource: SMTP, Gmail or an email service's API. Retool suggests this.","alternatives":[{"name":"SMTP resource with your own mailbox","note":"free","url":"https://docs.retool.com","ourPage":false},{"name":"Resend","note":"has a free tier","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/resend","ourPage":true},{"name":"Brevo","note":"has a free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/brevo","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/retool","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Retool community: deprecation of Retool Email on the Free plan","url":"https://community.retool.com/t/deprecation-of-retool-email-for-organizations-on-the-free-plan/67510","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Retool pricing","url":"https://retool.com/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"talenox-free","tool":"Talenox free payroll plan","vendor":"Talenox","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"open","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free payroll plan for small employers in Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong.","changed":"The free plan is retired. Free accounts became view-only: you can view and export, but not run payroll. Accounts that do not upgrade or export are deleted.","short":"Free plan retired; accounts are view-only","effective":{"date":"2026-01-05","approx":false,"label":"Jan 5, 2026","note":"closed to new users; view-only from Mar 31, 2026 (May 1 in Hong Kong)"},"actBy":{"date":"2026-12-31","approx":false,"label":"Dec 31, 2026","note":"Last day for free users to upgrade or export. The blog also names a 60-day rule, so do it sooner."},"todo":"Export payroll reports, tax forms and staff records now.","affected":"Employers still on the free plan.","costNow":"Not on the blog. Paid plans are named Startup, Standard and Pro.","escape":"Export in the app while the account is view-only.","alternatives":[],"alternativesNote":"We have not checked payroll tools for these countries yet.","ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Talenox blog: pricing changes, Jan 5, 2026","url":"https://www.talenox.com/blog/important-talenox-pricing-changes-starting-today-january-5-2026","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"The blog gives two deletion rules: 60 days after view-only, and Dec 31, 2026."},{"id":"smartsuite-free","tool":"SmartSuite Free plan","vendor":"SmartSuite","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"open","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free workspace plan.","changed":"New sign-ups ended on Jan 1, 2026. Free workspaces were locked on Jul 1, 2026, and the API was turned off. Data is kept for up to 6 months, then it cannot be retrieved.","short":"Free workspaces locked, API turned off","effective":{"date":"2026-07-01","approx":false,"label":"Jul 1, 2026","note":"free workspaces locked"},"actBy":{"date":"2027-01-01","approx":true,"label":"About Jan 1, 2027","note":"Data is kept up to 6 months from Jul 1, 2026. The guide is not fully clear on this date."},"todo":"Upgrade if you need the data. Since Jul 1, export needs an upgrade.","affected":"All remaining free workspaces.","costNow":"Not stated in the guide. See Plans and Billing in your workspace.","escape":"Export records and attachments. Since Jul 1, 2026 this needs an upgrade.","alternatives":[{"name":"Airtable","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/airtable","ourPage":true},{"name":"NocoDB","note":"open source, self-host","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/nocodb","ourPage":true},{"name":"Baserow","note":"free cloud plan and self-host","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/baserow","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/smartsuite","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"SmartSuite: Free plan sunset guide","url":"https://help.smartsuite.com/en/articles/13286510-free-plan-sunset-guide","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"The guide is not consistent on when the 6 months start."},{"id":"prisma-accelerate","tool":"Prisma Accelerate","vendor":"Prisma","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":false,"wasFree":"A connection pooler and query cache. We did not confirm its old free allowance on a Prisma page.","changed":"Accelerate is retired, including Prisma Postgres connections that go through it. Query caching has no replacement.","short":"Accelerate retired; caching has no replacement","effective":{"date":"2026-12-01","approx":false,"label":"Dec 1, 2026","note":null},"actBy":{"date":"2026-12-01","approx":false,"label":"Dec 1, 2026","note":null},"todo":"Move to a direct pooled connection or the serverless driver, and remove cacheStrategy from your code.","affected":"Apps that connect through accelerate.prisma-data.net, or use Accelerate in front of their own database.","costNow":"Nothing to buy: the product closes. Prisma Postgres has a free plan.","escape":"Follow the migration guide in the Transition tab of Accelerate in the Prisma Console.","alternatives":[{"name":"Prisma Postgres, direct pooled connection","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/prisma","ourPage":true},{"name":"PgBouncer","note":"self-host, free","url":"https://www.pgbouncer.org","ourPage":false},{"name":"Neon","note":"built-in pooling, free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/neon","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/prisma","event":"https://timetobail.com/e/prisma-accelerate-retired-2026"},"sources":[{"title":"Prisma changelog, Oct 2, 2026","url":"https://www.prisma.io/changelog/2026-10-02","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":"We could not confirm the old free allowance, so this row is not in the first number."},{"id":"deno-deploy","tool":"Deno Deploy","vendor":"Deno","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free plan: 1 million requests and 20 GiB of traffic a month, up to 10 apps.","changed":"Deno is joining Cloudflare. Deno Deploy runs for six more months, then shuts down. Help to move to Cloudflare Workers is for paying customers only.","short":"Deno Deploy shuts down after six months","effective":{"date":"2027-04","approx":true,"label":"About April 2027","note":"six months after the Oct 9, 2026 post"},"actBy":{"date":"2027-04","approx":true,"label":"About April 2027","note":"Six months after Oct 9, 2026. Deno gives no exact day."},"todo":"Plan the move now. Free users get no migration help.","affected":"All Deno Deploy users.","costNow":"Nothing to buy: the service closes. Cloudflare Workers Paid starts at $5 a month; Workers also has a free plan.","escape":"Your code lives in your repo. The post does not say how to export Deno KV data.","alternatives":[{"name":"Cloudflare Workers","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/cloudflare-workers","ourPage":true},{"name":"Fly.io","note":"pay as you go","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/fly-io","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/deno-deploy","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Deno blog: Deno is joining Cloudflare","url":"https://deno.com/blog/cloudflare","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Deno Deploy pricing","url":"https://deno.com/deploy/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":"The shutdown month is our count of six months from the post."},{"id":"pipedream-workflows","tool":"Pipedream Workflows","vendor":"Pipedream","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":false,"wasFree":"An automation tool for workflows. We did not confirm its old free tier on a Pipedream page.","changed":"No new sign-ups since Sep 30, 2026. Workflows and String shut down. All Workflows data is deleted, including saved logins and OAuth tokens. Pipedream Connect is not affected.","short":"Workflows shut down; all data deleted","effective":{"date":"2027-03-31","approx":false,"label":"Mar 31, 2027","note":null},"actBy":{"date":"2027-03-31","approx":false,"label":"Mar 31, 2027","note":"Shutdown. Data is deleted by Apr 30, 2027."},"todo":"Export each project as JSON and rebuild your workflows elsewhere.","affected":"All Workflows users.","costNow":"Nothing to buy. Subscriptions end with a refund for the unused part.","escape":"Export each project's workflows as JSON, one project at a time.","alternatives":[{"name":"n8n","note":"free to self-host","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/n8n","ourPage":true},{"name":"Activepieces","note":"open source","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/activepieces","ourPage":true},{"name":"Windmill","note":"open source","url":"https://www.windmill.dev/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/pipedream","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Pipedream docs: Workflows","url":"https://pipedream.com/docs/workflows","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":"We could not confirm the old free tier, so this row is not in the first number."},{"id":"smartlook","tool":"Smartlook","vendor":"Smartlook (Splunk)","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free plan for session recording and product analytics.","changed":"No new sales since May 31, 2026. Paid users drop to the free plan when their term ends. Then the whole platform closes and all data is deleted. Splunk will not move old data.","short":"Whole platform closes; all data deleted","effective":{"date":"2027-09-30","approx":false,"label":"Sep 30, 2027","note":null},"actBy":{"date":"2027-09-30","approx":false,"label":"Sep 30, 2027","note":"The platform closes and all data is deleted."},"todo":"Pull the data you need with the Smartlook API, and set up a new tool.","affected":"All Smartlook users, free and paid.","costNow":"Splunk points to its own paid product. Price on request.","escape":"The Smartlook REST API (the FAQ suggests it).","alternatives":[{"name":"PostHog","note":"free tier with session replay","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/posthog","ourPage":true},{"name":"Microsoft Clarity","note":"free","url":"https://clarity.microsoft.com","ourPage":false},{"name":"OpenReplay","note":"self-host","url":"https://openreplay.com/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Smartlook: end-of-life banner and FAQ","url":"https://www.smartlook.com/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"cockroachdb-basic","tool":"CockroachDB Cloud free use for new deployments","vendor":"Cockroach Labs","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":false,"wasFree":"Free use of the Basic tier. Today's page does not show the old free limits, so we did not confirm them.","changed":"New deployments get Standard and higher only. The only free offer is a 30-day trial with $400 of credit. After the trial, clusters pause, then are deleted after 30 days.","short":"No free tier; a 30-day trial only","effective":{"date":"2026-09-15","approx":false,"label":"Sep 15, 2026","note":"for new deployments"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"New organizations. Existing customers stay on their current pricing unless they opt in.","costNow":"Standard from $0.092 per vCPU-hour. The page also shows a lower 'from' price.","escape":"Not checked.","alternatives":[{"name":"Neon","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/neon","ourPage":true},{"name":"Supabase","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/supabase","ourPage":true},{"name":"TiDB Cloud Starter","note":"free tier","url":"https://www.pingcap.com/pricing/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/cockroachdb","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"CockroachDB pricing","url":"https://www.cockroachlabs.com/pricing/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"We could not confirm the old free limits, so this row is not in the first number."},{"id":"minio-community","tool":"MinIO community edition","vendor":"MinIO","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Free prebuilt binaries, Docker images and a full web admin console for the open-source server.","changed":"Admin features left the free web console in May 2025. In October 2025 the free edition became source-only: no binaries, no Docker images. The repo was archived on Apr 25, 2026 and gets no more fixes.","short":"Free edition is source-only; repo archived","effective":{"date":"2025-10-23","approx":false,"label":"Oct 23, 2025","note":"source-only, per the maintainer's post"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Everyone who runs the minio/minio images or binaries.","costNow":"AIStor Free: $0, one server only. More servers: price on request.","escape":"Copy buckets out with any S3 tool, for example mc mirror or rclone.","alternatives":[{"name":"SeaweedFS","note":"Apache 2.0, binaries and Docker image","url":"https://github.com/seaweedfs/seaweedfs","ourPage":false},{"name":"Garage","note":"small self-hosted S3 store","url":"https://garagehq.deuxfleurs.fr/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"MinIO repo README","url":"https://github.com/minio/minio","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"MinIO issue 21647: source-only","url":"https://github.com/minio/minio/issues/21647","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Object browser PR 3509","url":"https://github.com/minio/object-browser/pull/3509","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"MinIO pricing","url":"https://www.min.io/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"bitnami-images","tool":"Bitnami container images","vendor":"Bitnami (Broadcom)","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"The full catalog of versioned, patched images and Helm charts on Docker Hub.","changed":"New images stopped on Aug 28, 2025. Old tags moved to bitnamilegacy, with no updates. The docker.io/bitnami catalog was deleted on Sep 29, 2025. Free now means a few 'latest' images for dev and tests only.","short":"Free images stopped; old catalog deleted","effective":{"date":"2025-08-28","approx":false,"label":"Aug 28, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Anyone who pulls Bitnami images or charts in pipelines and clusters.","costNow":"Bitnami Secure Images. Price on request.","escape":"Copy the images you use into your own registry, as Broadcom advises. The sources stay on GitHub.","alternatives":[{"name":"Docker Hardened Images","note":"free community images","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/docker","ourPage":true},{"name":"Docker Official Images","note":"free","url":"https://hub.docker.com/search?badges=official","ourPage":false},{"name":"Build from Bitnami's sources","note":"Apache 2.0","url":"https://github.com/bitnami/containers","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Bitnami containers issue 83267","url":"https://github.com/bitnami/containers/issues/83267","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Bitnami charts issue 35164","url":"https://github.com/bitnami/charts/issues/35164","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Broadcom: how to prepare for the Bitnami changes","url":"https://community.broadcom.com/tanzu/blogs/beltran-rueda-borrego/2025/08/18/how-to-prepare-for-the-bitnami-changes-coming-soon","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"postman-free-teams","tool":"Postman Free plan for teams","vendor":"Postman","group":"dev","change":"shrank","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free team of up to 3 users with shared collections.","changed":"Free is now 1 user and cannot create a team. Team features need a paid plan. Legacy plans may stay until renewal.","short":"Free is now 1 user, no team","effective":{"date":"2026-03-01","approx":false,"label":"Mar 1, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Small teams, students and open-source groups that used the free 3-seat team.","costNow":"Team: $19 per user a month, billed yearly. Solo: $9 a month for one user.","escape":"Export collections and environments as JSON, or ask for a full data dump in Account settings.","alternatives":[{"name":"Bruno","note":"open source, files in Git","url":"https://www.usebruno.com/pricing","ourPage":false},{"name":"Insomnia","note":"free plan, Git Sync for up to 3 users","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/insomnia","ourPage":true},{"name":"Hoppscotch","note":"free, self-host","url":"https://hoppscotch.com/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/postman","event":"https://timetobail.com/e/postman-free-plan-one-user-2026"},"sources":[{"title":"Postman docs: about plans","url":"https://learning.postman.com/docs/billing/about-plans","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Postman blog: new plans from March 2026","url":"https://blog.postman.com/new-capabilities-march-2026/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Postman pricing","url":"https://www.postman.com/pricing/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"hcp-terraform-legacy-free","tool":"HCP Terraform legacy Free plan","vendor":"HashiCorp (IBM)","group":"dev","change":"shrank","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"The legacy Free plan had no cap on managed resources.","changed":"It ended on Mar 31, 2026. Orgs moved to a new Free tier: up to 500 managed resources, any number of users, one run at a time. Above 500 resources you pay per resource.","short":"Free tier capped at 500 managed resources","effective":{"date":"2026-03-31","approx":false,"label":"Mar 31, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Orgs on the legacy Free plan with more than 500 resources.","costNow":"Essentials from $0.10 per resource a month.","escape":"Pull the state of each workspace (terraform state pull).","alternatives":[{"name":"OpenTofu","note":"open-source Terraform drop-in","url":"https://opentofu.org/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Scalr","note":"free tier, 50 runs a month","url":"https://www.scalr.com/pricing","ourPage":false},{"name":"Atlantis","note":"free, runs in your own CI","url":"https://www.runatlantis.io/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"HashiCorp blog: the enhanced free tier","url":"https://www.hashicorp.com/blog/continuing-hcp-terraform-s-enhanced-free-tier-experience","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"HCP Terraform docs: overview","url":"https://developer.hashicorp.com/terraform/cloud-docs/overview","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"HashiCorp pricing","url":"https://www.hashicorp.com/en/pricing?product_intent=terraform&tab=terraform","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"bitbucket-free","tool":"Bitbucket Cloud Free plan","vendor":"Atlassian","group":"dev","change":"shrank","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Free workspaces for up to 5 users, with Downloads, Snippets and no storage cap in practice.","changed":"Free workspaces now have 1 GB of storage in total. Over it, the workspace goes read-only. Downloads and Snippets were removed. Pipelines logs are kept 90 days. Repos with no activity for 3 months may be archived.","short":"Free workspaces capped at 1 GB total","effective":{"date":"2025-05-29","approx":false,"label":"May 29, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Free workspaces over 1 GB, and anyone who used Downloads or Snippets.","costNow":"Standard: $3.65 per user a month.","escape":"Copy each repo with git clone --mirror.","alternatives":[{"name":"GitHub Free","note":"free private repos, free self-hosted runners","url":"https://docs.github.com/en/billing/concepts/product-billing/github-actions","ourPage":false},{"name":"GitLab Free","note":"10 GiB per project","url":"https://docs.gitlab.com/user/storage_usage_quotas/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Codeberg","note":"free, for open source","url":"https://codeberg.org/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Atlassian blog: changes to Bitbucket Cloud's free plan","url":"https://www.atlassian.com/blog/it-teams/important-changes-coming-to-bitbucket-clouds-free-plan","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Bitbucket pricing","url":"https://www.atlassian.com/software/bitbucket/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"aws-free-tier","tool":"AWS 12-month Free Tier","vendor":"Amazon Web Services","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"New accounts got 12 months of free trials, such as 750 hours a month of a small EC2 server.","changed":"New accounts now pick a Free or a Paid plan. Both get $100 in credits, plus up to $100 more for 5 small tasks. The Free plan ends after six months or when the credits run out. Then you have 90 days to upgrade, or the account closes.","short":"Free plan now ends after six months","effective":{"date":"2025-07-15","approx":false,"label":"Jul 15, 2025","note":"for new accounts"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"New AWS accounts since Jul 15, 2025. Older accounts kept the old Free Tier.","costNow":"Pay as you go at normal rates once the credits are used.","escape":"Back up EBS and RDS snapshots and S3 data before a Free plan account closes.","alternatives":[{"name":"Google Cloud Free Tier","note":"$300 credit for 90 days, plus a small free VM","url":"https://docs.cloud.google.com/free/docs/free-cloud-features","ourPage":false},{"name":"Cloudflare R2","note":"10 GB free, no egress fees","url":"https://developers.cloudflare.com/r2/pricing/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Supabase","note":"free plan","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/supabase","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"AWS News Blog: Free Tier update","url":"https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/aws/aws-free-tier-update-new-customers-can-get-started-and-explore-aws-with-up-to-200-in-credits/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"AWS billing docs: Free Tier","url":"https://docs.aws.amazon.com/awsaccountbilling/latest/aboutv2/free-tier.html","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"firebase-storage-spark","tool":"Firebase Cloud Storage on the free Spark plan","vendor":"Google (Firebase)","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Spark projects had a free storage bucket: 5 GB stored and 1 GB downloaded a day.","changed":"Cloud Storage now needs the pay-as-you-go Blaze plan. Spark projects lost read and write access to all their buckets. The files stay, but you cannot reach them until you upgrade.","short":"Cloud Storage now needs the Blaze plan","effective":{"date":"2026-02-03","approx":false,"label":"Feb 3, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Every Spark project that uses Cloud Storage.","costNow":"Blaze, pay as you go. It needs a card, but light use can still cost $0.","escape":"Upgrade to Blaze, then copy files out with gcloud storage cp.","alternatives":[{"name":"Supabase Storage","note":"1 GB free","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/supabase","ourPage":true},{"name":"Cloudflare R2","note":"10 GB free, no egress fees","url":"https://developers.cloudflare.com/r2/pricing/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/firebase","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Firebase FAQ: Cloud Storage changes","url":"https://firebase.google.com/docs/storage/faqs-storage-changes-announced-sept-2024","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"An earlier deadline (Oct 30, 2025) is no longer on the FAQ."},{"id":"google-custom-search-api","tool":"Google Custom Search JSON API","vendor":"Google","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"100 search queries a day for free, then $5 per 1,000.","changed":"Closed to new customers. Existing customers must move by Jan 1, 2027. Google's suggested replacement covers up to 50 sites, not the whole web.","short":"Closed to new customers; existing must move","effective":{"date":"2027-01-01","approx":false,"label":"Jan 1, 2027","note":"for existing customers"},"actBy":{"date":"2027-01-01","approx":false,"label":"Jan 1, 2027","note":null},"todo":"Pick a new search API and switch your keys before the date.","affected":"Everyone who uses the API today.","costNow":"No like-for-like Google option. For whole-web search, Google says to contact it.","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"Brave Search API","note":"$5 of free credit a month","url":"https://brave.com/search/api/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Tavily","note":"1,000 free credits a month","url":"https://www.tavily.com/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":"https://timetobail.com/e/google-custom-search-json-api-shutdown-2027"},"sources":[{"title":"Custom Search JSON API overview","url":"https://developers.google.com/custom-search/v1/overview","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"spotify-web-api-dev-mode","tool":"Spotify Web API Development Mode","vendor":"Spotify","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Any Spotify user, Free or Premium, could build a test app with up to 25 users and use the Web API at no cost.","changed":"The app owner now needs Spotify Premium. If Premium lapses, the app stops working. Each developer gets one test app, with up to 5 users.","short":"App owners now need Spotify Premium","effective":{"date":"2026-03-09","approx":false,"label":"Mar 9, 2026","note":"for existing apps (Feb 11 for new ones)"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Hobby developers and open-source Spotify tools whose owner has no Premium.","costNow":"Spotify Premium Individual: $12.99 a month (US).","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"Last.fm API","note":"free for non-commercial use","url":"https://www.last.fm/api/tos","ourPage":false},{"name":"MusicBrainz API","note":"free for non-commercial use","url":"https://musicbrainz.org/doc/MusicBrainz_API","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Spotify for Developers blog, Feb 6, 2026","url":"https://developer.spotify.com/blog/2026-02-06-update-on-developer-access-and-platform-security","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Spotify: February 2026 migration guide","url":"https://developer.spotify.com/documentation/web-api/tutorials/february-2026-migration-guide","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Spotify Premium plans","url":"https://www.spotify.com/us/premium/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"google-maps-monthly-credit","tool":"Google Maps Platform $200 monthly credit","vendor":"Google","group":"dev","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"$200 of free use every month, spread across any Maps APIs.","changed":"The credit is gone. Each product now has its own free monthly cap: 10,000 calls for Essentials, 5,000 for Pro, 1,000 for Enterprise. Apps on one Essentials product may get more free use. Apps on Pro or Enterprise products get less.","short":"$200 monthly credit gone; caps per product","effective":{"date":"2025-03-01","approx":false,"label":"Mar 1, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Pay-as-you-go Maps customers without a custom contract.","costNow":"Over the cap: Dynamic Maps $7 per 1,000, Geocoding $5 per 1,000.","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"Mapbox","note":"50,000 free web map loads a month","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/mapbox","ourPage":true},{"name":"MapTiler Cloud","note":"free plan for non-commercial use","url":"https://www.maptiler.com/cloud/pricing/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Google Maps Platform: March 2025 changes","url":"https://developers.google.com/maps/billing-and-pricing/march-2025","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Google Maps Platform pricing","url":"https://developers.google.com/maps/billing-and-pricing/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"bing-search-apis","tool":"Bing Search APIs","vendor":"Microsoft","group":"dev","change":"shutdown","status":"ended","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":false,"wasFree":"Web, news and image search APIs with a free entry tier. We did not confirm that free tier on a Microsoft page.","changed":"The APIs were retired and switched off. Microsoft points to Grounding with Bing Search, which works only inside AI agents.","short":"APIs retired and switched off","effective":{"date":"2025-08-11","approx":false,"label":"Aug 11, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All Bing Search API users.","costNow":"Grounding with Bing Search: $14 per 1,000 calls.","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"Brave Search API","note":"$5 of free credit a month","url":"https://brave.com/search/api/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Tavily","note":"1,000 free credits a month","url":"https://www.tavily.com/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Microsoft Lifecycle: Bing Search API retirement","url":"https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/lifecycle/announcements/bing-search-api-retirement","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Grounding with Bing Search pricing","url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/bing/apis/grounding-pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"We could not confirm the old free tier, so this row is not in the first number."},{"id":"gemini-code-assist-individuals","tool":"Gemini Code Assist for individuals and Gemini CLI with a personal login","vendor":"Google","group":"ai","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Free AI code help in the editor for individuals, and Gemini CLI with a personal Google account.","changed":"Both stopped working for personal accounts: free users, Google AI Pro and AI Ultra. Google points users to Antigravity.","short":"Stopped working for personal accounts","effective":{"date":"2026-06-18","approx":false,"label":"Jun 18, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Everyone who used them with a personal Google account.","costNow":"Google points to Antigravity. We did not check its prices.","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"GitHub Copilot Free","note":"2,000 code completions a month","url":"https://github.com/features/copilot/plans","ourPage":false},{"name":"Continue","note":"open source, bring your own model","url":"https://www.continue.dev/pricing","ourPage":false},{"name":"Cline","note":"open source","url":"https://cline.bot/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Gemini Code Assist: deprecation for individuals","url":"https://developers.google.com/gemini-code-assist/docs/deprecations/code-assist-individuals","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"hugging-face-inference-credits","tool":"Hugging Face free monthly inference credits","vendor":"Hugging Face","group":"ai","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Every free account got $0.10 of Inference Providers credits a month.","changed":"Free accounts now get no included credits. To use Inference Providers, buy credits or upgrade to PRO.","short":"No included free inference credits","effective":{"date":"2026-10-07","approx":false,"label":"Oct 7, 2026","note":"the day the docs changed; we found no post or email"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Free accounts that call models through Hugging Face's router.","costNow":"PRO: $9 a month with $2 of credits. Or buy credits as you go.","escape":"Nothing to export. You can bring your own provider key.","alternatives":[{"name":"Google AI Studio (Gemini API)","note":"free tier","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/gemini-api","ourPage":true},{"name":"OpenRouter free models","note":"rate limited","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/openrouter","ourPage":true},{"name":"Ollama","note":"free, runs on your own computer","url":"https://ollama.com","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Hugging Face docs: Inference Providers pricing","url":"https://huggingface.co/docs/inference-providers/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"hub-docs commit c708a9e (Oct 7, 2026)","url":"https://api.github.com/repos/huggingface/hub-docs/commits/c708a9e9fd2ba53fefc8fad13ff1a9780a838c42","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Hugging Face pricing","url":"https://huggingface.co/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":"The date is when the docs changed. We found no post or email."},{"id":"suno-free-downloads","tool":"Suno song downloads on the Free plan","vendor":"Suno","group":"ai","change":"shrank","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Free accounts could download the songs they made, for personal use.","changed":"Download limits now apply to all songs, old ones too. Free users who joined before Sep 3, 2026 get up to 7 downloads in total. Newer free users get them only now and then. Songs stay playable and shareable by link.","short":"Download limits now cover old songs too","effective":{"date":"2026-09-03","approx":false,"label":"Sep 3, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All free users. Paid plans now have monthly caps too.","costNow":"Pro: $8 a month for 20 downloads. Premier: $24 a month for 60.","escape":"In your Library, open the three-dot menu and pick Download. Each song uses one download.","alternatives":[{"name":"Stable Audio","note":"free tier","url":"https://www.stableaudio.com/pricing","ourPage":false},{"name":"ElevenLabs Music","note":"free plan; commercial use is paid","url":"https://elevenlabs.io/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Suno blog: downloads policy and terms update","url":"https://suno.com/blog/suno-updates-tos","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Suno help: upcoming changes FAQ","url":"https://help.suno.com/en/articles/13614785","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Suno help: how downloads work","url":"https://help.suno.com/en/articles/13876865","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Suno pricing","url":"https://suno.com/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"openai-sora","tool":"Sora app and API","vendor":"OpenAI","group":"ai","change":"shutdown","status":"ended","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":false,"wasFree":"Free users could make videos in the Sora app each day. The daily limits come from news, not from OpenAI's pages.","changed":"OpenAI closed Sora. The web and app closed on Apr 26, 2026, and the API on Sep 24, 2026. OpenAI says it will delete Sora data after a final export window.","short":"Sora closed: app, web and API","effective":{"date":"2026-04-26","approx":false,"label":"Apr 26, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All Sora app and API users.","costNow":"No paid Sora option is left. Unused credits can go to Codex.","escape":"The help page names an export at sora.chatgpt.com/sunset. We could not check that it still works.","alternatives":[{"name":"Google Veo (Google AI plans)","note":"paid","url":"https://one.google.com/about/google-ai-plans/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Kling AI","note":"free credits","url":"https://klingai.com","ourPage":false},{"name":"Runway","note":"free starter tier","url":"https://runwayml.com/pricing","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"OpenAI Help Center: the Sora discontinuation","url":"https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001152","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":"The help page blocked our fetcher; we read its text through a search index."},{"id":"gemini-api-cloud-trial","tool":"Gemini API on the $300 Google Cloud trial","vendor":"Google","group":"ai","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"New Google Cloud accounts could spend the $300 trial credit on the Gemini API.","changed":"Accounts opened after Mar 2, 2026 cannot use trial credit for the Gemini API. The Gemini API free tier still exists for many models. The newest models are paid only.","short":"Trial credit no longer covers Gemini API","effective":{"date":"2026-03-02","approx":false,"label":"Mar 2, 2026","note":"for new accounts"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"New Google Cloud accounts that planned to use the trial for Gemini.","costNow":"The paid tier, paid in advance. Prices per model are on the pricing page.","escape":"Nothing to export.","alternatives":[{"name":"OpenRouter free models","note":"50 requests a day","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/openrouter","ourPage":true},{"name":"Groq","note":"free plan","url":"https://console.groq.com/docs/rate-limits","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":"https://timetobail.com/e/gemini-api-flash-price-rise-2027"},"sources":[{"title":"Gemini API: billing","url":"https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/billing","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Gemini API: pricing","url":"https://ai.google.dev/gemini-api/docs/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"sendgrid-free","tool":"Twilio SendGrid free plans","vendor":"Twilio","group":"consumer","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free Email API plan and a free Marketing Campaigns plan.","changed":"Both free plans were retired. After 60 days, sending paused on free accounts. Accounts with more than 100 contacts had all contacts deleted. New sign-ups get a free trial instead.","short":"Free plans retired; a free trial instead","effective":{"date":"2025-05-27","approx":false,"label":"May 27, 2025","note":"start; sending paused 60 days later"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All SendGrid free accounts.","costNow":"Paid plans. We could not read prices on SendGrid's page.","escape":"Export contacts as CSV from Marketing, then Contacts.","alternatives":[{"name":"Resend","note":"3,000 free emails a month","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/resend","ourPage":true},{"name":"Mailgun","note":"100 free emails a day","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/mailgun","ourPage":true},{"name":"Brevo","note":"free, up to 300 emails a day","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/brevo","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Twilio changelog: SendGrid free plan","url":"https://www.twilio.com/en-us/changelog/sendgrid-free-plan","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Twilio changelog: changes to SendGrid's free plans","url":"https://www.twilio.com/en-us/changelog/changes-coming-to-sendgrid-s-free-plans","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"dashlane-free","tool":"Dashlane Free","vendor":"Dashlane","group":"consumer","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"One device and up to 25 passwords.","changed":"Free accounts moved to a Premium trial. When it ended on Sep 16, 2025, they became export-only. The export window closed on Sep 16, 2026.","short":"Free became export-only; that window closed","effective":{"date":"2025-09-16","approx":false,"label":"Sep 16, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All remaining Dashlane Free users.","costNow":"Premium or Friends & Family. The price page did not show prices to us.","escape":"Export to CSV from the web app or extension. The official export window has closed.","alternatives":[{"name":"Bitwarden","note":"free plan, unlimited devices","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/bitwarden","ourPage":true},{"name":"Proton Pass","note":"free plan, unlimited logins","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/proton-pass","ourPage":true},{"name":"KeePassXC","note":"free, a local file","url":"https://keepassxc.org/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":"https://timetobail.com/products/dashlane","event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Dashlane blog: Dashlane Free is ending","url":"https://www.dashlane.com/blog/dashlane-free-ending","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Dashlane personal plans","url":"https://www.dashlane.com/pricing-personal","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"plex-remote-streaming","tool":"Plex remote streaming of your own media","vendor":"Plex","group":"consumer","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Streaming from your own Plex server when away from home, at no cost.","changed":"Remote streaming of personal media is no longer free. The viewer needs a Remote Watch Pass or Plex Pass, or the server owner needs Plex Pass. Streaming at home is not affected. It rolled out app by app into 2026.","short":"Remote streaming of your media now paid","effective":{"date":"2025-04-29","approx":false,"label":"Apr 29, 2025","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"Anyone who streams from outside the server's home network, including friends and family.","costNow":"Remote Watch Pass: $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year. Plex Pass: $6.99 a month or $69.99 a year.","escape":"Your media stays on your own server. Point another server app at the same folders.","alternatives":[{"name":"Jellyfin","note":"free, open source","url":"https://jellyfin.org/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Emby","note":"free server, paid extras","url":"https://www.emby.media/premiere.html","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Plex blog: important 2025 updates","url":"https://www.plex.tv/blog/important-2025-plex-updates/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Plex plans","url":"https://www.plex.tv/plans/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Plex forum: smart TVs and consoles","url":"https://forums.plex.tv/t/changes-coming-to-remote-streaming-on-smart-tvs/937015","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"snapchat-memories-storage","tool":"Snapchat Memories over 5 GB","vendor":"Snap","group":"consumer","change":"shrank","status":"open","counted":false,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"Free storage for all your saved Snaps (Memories), with no cap.","changed":"Free storage is now 5 GB. From January 2027, Memories older than one year that fall outside your oldest 5 GB will be archived. You see only thumbnails until you upgrade. Snap says it will not delete them.","short":"Free storage 5 GB; older Memories archived","effective":{"date":"2027-01","approx":false,"label":"January 2027","note":null},"actBy":{"date":"2027-01","approx":false,"label":"January 2027","note":"Archiving starts. Snap says the app gives notice first."},"todo":"Download the Memories you want to keep, or buy storage.","affected":"Users with more than 5 GB of Memories.","costNow":"100 GB plan: $1.99 a month or $20 a year (US).","escape":"Download Memories to your phone (Snapchat help).","alternatives":[{"name":"Google Photos","note":"15 GB free per account","url":"https://one.google.com/about/plans","ourPage":false},{"name":"Ente Photos","note":"10 GB free, end-to-end encrypted","url":"https://ente.com/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Immich","note":"free, self-hosted","url":"https://immich.app/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Snap newsroom: Memories storage","url":"https://newsroom.snap.com/snap-memory-storage","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Snapchat help: manage your Memories storage","url":"https://help.snapchat.com/hc/en-us/articles/41291271694228-How-do-I-manage-my-Memories-storage","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"high","caveat":null},{"id":"rosebud-free","tool":"Rosebud Free plan","vendor":"Rosebud","group":"consumer","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free plan of the Rosebud AI journal.","changed":"The free plan is retired. Rosebud says nothing you wrote is going away.","short":"Free plan retired","effective":{"date":"2026-09-30","approx":false,"label":"Sep 30, 2026","note":null},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"All free users.","costNow":"Not stated on the help page.","escape":"Export your entries at any time (the help page links the steps).","alternatives":[{"name":"Day One","note":"free tier","url":"https://dayoneapp.com/pricing/","ourPage":false},{"name":"Obsidian","note":"free, local files","url":"https://timetobail.com/products/obsidian","ourPage":true}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Rosebud help: changes to the free plan","url":"https://help.rosebud.app/account/changes-to-the-free-plan","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":null},{"id":"burner-mail-free","tool":"Burner Mail Free plan","vendor":"Burner Mail","group":"consumer","change":"ended","status":"ended","counted":true,"freeConfirmed":true,"wasFree":"A free plan for throwaway email addresses.","changed":"The public free plan is gone. New users must pay before they make addresses. Current free users keep their limits.","short":"Public free plan gone; new users pay","effective":{"date":"2026-06-27","approx":false,"label":"Jun 27, 2026","note":"the date of the post; it gives no start date"},"actBy":null,"todo":null,"affected":"New users. Current free users keep their free limits.","costNow":"Not stated in the post.","escape":"Nothing to export for new users.","alternatives":[{"name":"SimpleLogin","note":"free plan","url":"https://simplelogin.io/pricing/","ourPage":false},{"name":"addy.io","note":"free plan","url":"https://addy.io/#pricing","ourPage":false},{"name":"Firefox Relay","note":"free tier","url":"https://relay.firefox.com/premium/","ourPage":false}],"alternativesNote":null,"ourPages":{"product":null,"event":null},"sources":[{"title":"Burner Mail blog: why we're removing the free plan","url":"https://burnermail.io/blog/why-were-removing-burner-mails-free-plan/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Burner Mail pricing","url":"https://burnermail.io/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}],"confidence":"medium","caveat":null}],"notCounted":[{"tool":"Mailchimp Free","shows":"Mailchimp's page now lists 250 contacts and 500 sends a month on Free.","missing":"The old limits and the start date come only from news.","source":{"title":"Mailchimp pricing","url":"https://mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"X API Free tier","shows":"X's pricing page lists only pay-per-use. It shows no Free tier.","missing":"The date the Free tier ended comes only from news.","source":{"title":"X API pricing","url":"https://docs.x.com/x-api/getting-started/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"Netlify Free","shows":"Netlify's docs say new Free accounts get 300 credits a month, and sites pause at zero.","missing":"The old free limits come only from other sites.","source":{"title":"Netlify docs: credit-based plans","url":"https://docs.netlify.com/manage/accounts-and-billing/billing/billing-for-credit-based-plans/credit-based-pricing-plans/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"WeTransfer Free","shows":"WeTransfer's help page says Free is 10 transfers or 3 GB in any 30 days.","missing":"We found no start date on WeTransfer's pages.","source":{"title":"WeTransfer help: plan limits","url":"https://wetransfer.com/help-center/subscriptions/plan-limits","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"Vercel v0 free credits","shows":"v0's page now says $5 in one-time credits for new users.","missing":"The old monthly credit and the date come only from a tracker site.","source":{"title":"v0 pricing","url":"https://v0.app/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"Bitly Free","shows":"Bitly's price page labels Free 'With Ads', with 5 links a month.","missing":"Bitly's terms are dated September 2024. The rollout date comes only from news.","source":{"title":"Bitly pricing","url":"https://bitly.com/pages/pricing","accessed":"2026-10-13"}},{"tool":"Tabnine Basic","shows":"Tabnine's docs list only Enterprise plans, and the old plugin takes no new users.","missing":"We found no end date for the free plan on Tabnine's pages.","source":{"title":"Tabnine docs: plans","url":"https://docs.tabnine.com/main/welcome/readme/tabnine-subscription-plans","accessed":"2026-10-13"}}],"myths":[{"tool":"GitHub Actions self-hosted runners","claim":"A $0.002 per minute fee on self-hosted runners from Mar 1, 2026.","truth":"GitHub postponed it on Dec 17, 2025, with no new date. Its docs still say self-hosted runner use is free.","status":"Postponed, not cancelled","sources":[{"title":"GitHub changelog, Dec 16, 2025 (with the postponement note)","url":"https://github.blog/changelog/2025-12-16-coming-soon-simpler-pricing-and-a-better-experience-for-github-actions/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"GitHub: 2026 pricing changes for Actions","url":"https://github.com/resources/insights/2026-pricing-changes-for-github-actions","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"GitHub docs: Actions billing","url":"https://docs.github.com/en/billing/concepts/product-billing/github-actions","accessed":"2026-10-13"}]},{"tool":"Docker Hub pull limits","claim":"Pulls without a login cut to 10 an hour from Apr 1, 2025.","truth":"Docker did not enforce it. The limits are still 100 pulls per 6 hours without a login, and 200 with a free account. Docker promises 6 months of notice first.","status":"Never enforced","sources":[{"title":"Docker blog: revisiting Docker Hub policies","url":"https://www.docker.com/blog/revisiting-docker-hub-policies-prioritizing-developer-experience/","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Docker docs: pull usage and limits","url":"https://docs.docker.com/docker-hub/usage/pulls/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}]},{"tool":"Windows 10 security updates at home","claim":"Free updates for home PCs end in October 2026.","truth":"Microsoft extended consumer Extended Security Updates to Oct 12, 2027. It is free if you sync PC settings with Windows Backup. Or use 1,000 Rewards points, or pay $30 once.","status":"Extended to Oct 12, 2027","sources":[{"title":"Microsoft: Windows 10 Extended Security Updates","url":"https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/extended-security-updates","accessed":"2026-10-13"},{"title":"Windows blog (editor's note, Jun 25, 2026)","url":"https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperience/2025/06/24/stay-secure-with-windows-11-copilot-pcs-and-windows-365-before-support-ends-for-windows-10/","accessed":"2026-10-13"}]}],"otherWay":[{"tool":"Microsoft Store developer accounts","what":"Individual and company developers can open a Store account with no sign-up fee, through the new onboarding site.","date":"2025-09-17","dateNote":"date of Microsoft's page; updated July 2026","sources":[{"title":"Microsoft Learn: open a developer account","url":"https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/apps/publish/partner-center/open-a-developer-account","accessed":"2026-10-13"}]}]}